Foodistini Orangen Cheese Cake Rezept Recipe
Recipe Sweet

Orange Cheesecake

My one and only favorite sister lives near New York (more precisely in Bridgeport, Conneticut). And I have the privilege right of visiting her! And it is also her birthday today! I am so happy that I get to spend this day with you in New York. And what would be better fitting than a classical New York cheesecake as your birthday cake.

Sadly, I am not able to make the name-giving and rather involved cheesecake here for her (instead we baked a really tasty apple cake – her favorite anyway). But A and I tested it intensely before my trip and decided it is definitely birthday-worthy. So all the best to you little sister!

Foodistini Orangen Cheese Cake Rezept Recipe

Cheesecake in Germany is a very different affair than in the States. Though it is also made with cheese in it, it is a special kind called “Quark”. Which is denser and more tart than cream cheese. So a German cheesecake turns out not as soft and more fluffy. But a NY Cheesecake is creamy and more a praline filling in cake form.

But sadly this indulgences is a little bit elaborate in the making. And if I, who finds for example making her own pasta personally not really elaborate, cal something elaborate, then you got some work in front of you.

The dough itself is not elaborate, but instead rather easy mixing. But the entire baking procedure, that is the elaborate part. Here the cake is made in a water bath. And the temperature needs to be changed 3 times during baking. And then you let it cool for X minutes, before taking it out the form and cutting it, and letting it cool again. I would plan an entire afternoon for this cake where every 30 minutes a little task needs to be done for the cake. And don’t forget the long cooling period of 9 hours before cutting into it the first time. So yes, elaborate.

But it is so worth it! I love the taste of a cheesecake. The mascarpone melts in your mouth. The bottom is crumbly, sugary. And the filling taste slightly tart and of oranges. Just stick to the recipe (word for word) and you will be rewarded with a beautiful (so one without cracks in the top) and tasty cheesecake.

Foodistini Orangen Cheese Cake Rezept Recipe


Recipe – Orange Cheesecake

Amount: 1 cake (round pan, 9 inch diameter, removable side); Time: 15 minutes preparation, 2 hours baking time, 12 hours cooling time

Ingredients for the curst:

  • 115 g butter
  • 170 g flour
  • 50 g sugar
  • 1 egg yolk

 

Ingredients for the filling:

  • 400 g plain cream cheese
  • 250 g mascarpone
  • 20 g flour
  • 100 g sugar
  • Zest of 2 oranges, Juice of 1 orange
  • Zest of 1 lemon, juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 3 eggs

 

Recipe – Orange Cheesecake

 

Preheat the oven to 400° F (200° C, upper- and lower heat), take out the baking rack. Grease a round pan (9 inch diameter) with a removable side. Place a baking paper on the bottom.

For the crust place 115 g butter in a bowl and microwave for 30 seconds. Add 170 g of flour, 50 g sugar and 1 egg yolk to the bowl and stir together with a fork until it forms a dough.

Place 1/3 of the dough on the bottom of the pan and push it down evenly in a circle. Now run a knife along the sides of the pan and remove the side of your pan.

now place the bottom part on your baking rack an bake it for 10 minutes at 400° F (200° C, upper- and lower heat), until the bottom crust takes on a light gold-brown.

Meanwhile whip together in a mixing bowl for the filling 400 g plain cream cheese, 250 g mascarpone, 20 g flour and 100 g sugar until it has a consistent creamy texture. Then add the zest of 2 oranges and 1 lemon, as well as the juice of 1 orange and 1/2 lemon. One after the other mix in the 3 eggs. You want a filling with no clumps in it while being rather liquidy. So it is important to mix in the liquid ingredients one after the other, stirring very well in between each addition.

When you took the bottom crust out of the oven, heat it to 460° F (240° C, upper- and lower heat).

Now add the side of your baking pan again. Press the remaining crust evenly on the inside up to the top.

Then take 2 sheets of aluminium foil. Place them in a cross and set the pan in the middle. Now wrap the foil around the pan. Be careful to make it as tight as possible and to leave no gaps or holes up to a height of 2/3 of the pan.

Now place the wrapped pan in a casserole dish. Add enough water, so that it stands to a height of 2/3 of the side of the pan, but cannot leak into the pan.

Now fill the round pan up with your filling and place the casserole dish with the cake in it in the oven.

Bake the cheesecake for 15 minutes at 460° F (240° C, upper- and lower heat). Then (without opening the oven) turn the temperature down to 200° F (90° C, upper- and lower heat) and bake the cheesecake for another 60 minutes.

After that turn of the oven (without opening it) and let the cake stand in the oven with a closed door for another 30 minutes.

Now open the oven and let the cake cool another 30 minutes with the door opened (so it is away from drafts, preventing cracks).

Then take out the casserole dish and carefully remove the round pan from it. Dry it of and place on a cooling rack. Run with a knife carefully between the sides of the pan and the crust to loosen it from the pan (other wise if it sticks to it the cakes surface can crack). But do not open or remove the side of your pan yet.

Let the cake cool another 30 minutes on the rack. Then place it uncovered in its pan in the fridge (covering a warm cake causes moisture to condense on the lid, which could drip on the surface making it thus less pretty) until it is completely cool.

Now you can cover the cheesecake and continue cooling it for 9 hours or longer.

Finally the time has come to remove the side of the pan (run a knife around it ones more). The cheesecake can be cut best with a knife, that has been held under running water between each cut.

 

Does not keep longer than 3 days in the fridge.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Foodistini Orangen Cheese Cake Rezept Recipe
Rezept Süß

Orangen Cheesecake

Meine Lieblingsschwester wohnt bei New York (also genauer gesagt in Bridgeport, Conneticut). Und ich habe gerade das Glück sie besuchen zu können! Und dazu hat sie heute auch noch Geburtstag! Ich freue mich so sehr, dass ich diesen Tag heute mit ihr in New York verbringen darf. Und was würde da für dich C thematisch besser passen als ein klassischer New York Cheesecake als Geburstagskuchen.

Leider bin ich nicht dazu gekommen ihr hier direkt den namensgeben, aber aufwendigen Cheesecake zu backen (dafür gibt’s einen leckeren gedeckten Apfelkuchen – ihren Lieblingskuchen). Aber A und ich haben den Cheesecake vor meiner Abreise ausgiebig getestet und für absolut Geburtstags-würdig befunden. Also alles Gute kleine Schwester!

Foodistini Orangen Cheese Cake Rezept Recipe

„Cheesecake“ übersetzt man zwar mit „Käsekuchen“ und es ist auch dank Mascarpone und Frischkäse der Käse aus dem Namen in der Zutatenliste enthalten. Aber dieser Cheesecake hat nichts mit dem uns bekannten deutschen Käsekuchen zu tun. Denn die Konsistenz ist hier viel cremiger und etwas feuchter. Sie erinnert mehr an eine Pralinenfüllung.

Aber leider ist dieser Genuss auch aufwendig in der Herstellung. Und wenn ich, die zB Pasta selber machen persönlich nicht wirklich aufwendig findet, etwas so nenne, dann kommt wirklich etwas Arbeit auf euch zu.

Nicht beim Teig, den der Teig an sich ist einfach, aber das Backprozedere drumherum ich aufwändig. Da wird der Kuchen im Wasserbad gemacht. Mit 3 verschiedenen Temperaturen beim backen. Und dann für X Minuten lang abkühlen, dann aus der Form nehmen und schneiden, dann wieder kühlen. Rechnet für den ganzen Backprozess ruhig einen Nachmittag ein in dem ihr alle 30 Minuten kurz etwas tun müsst. Und dann auch noch die lange, finale Kühlzeit von 9 Stunden vor dem Anschneiden. Also ja, aufwendig.

Aber es lohnt sich! Ich lieben den Geschmack von Cheesecake einfach. Die Mascarpone schimlzt im Mund. Der Kuchenboden krümelt zuckrig. Und die Füllung schmeckt leicht säuerliche nach Orangen. Haltet euch einfach genau an das Rezept und ihr werdet am Ende auch mit einem wunderschönen (also einen ohne Risse obendrauf) und leckeren Cheesecake entlohnt.

Foodistini Orangen Cheese Cake Rezept Recipe


Rezept – Orangen Cheese Cake

 
Menge: 1 Kuchen (Springform, 20cm Durchmesser); Zubereitungszeit: 15 Minuten Zubereitung, 2 Stunden Backzeit, 12 Stunden Kühlzeit
 

Zutaten für die Kruste:

  • 115 g Butter
  • 170 g Mehl
  • 50 g Zucker
  • 1 Eigelb

 

Zutaten für die Füllung:

  • 400 g Frischkäse Natur
  • 250 g Mascarpone
  • 20 g Mehl
  • 100 g Zucker
  • Schale von 2 Orangen, Saft von 1 Orange
  • Schale von 1 Zitrone, Saft von 1/2 Zitrone
  • 3 Eier

 

Rezept – Orangen Cheese Cake

 

Den Ofen auf 200° C (Ober- und Unterhitze) vorheizen, das Backgitter herausnehmen. Eine runde Springform (20cm Durchmesser) einfetten. Den Boden mit Backpapier auslegen.

Für die Kruste 115 g Butter in einer Schüssel 30 Sekunden lang in der Mikrowelle erwärmen. Dann 170 g Mehl, 50 g Zucker und ein Eigelb dazu geben und mit einer Gabel zu einem Teig verrühren.

1/3 des Teiges gleichmäßig auf den Boden der Springform drücken. Dann mit einem Messer an der Seite entlang fahren und die Wand der Springform wieder lösen.

Nur den Boden auf das Backgitter setzen und 10 Minuten bei 200° C (Ober- und Unterhitze) backen, bis der Boden ein helles Gold-Braun annimmt.

Währenddessen in einer Rührschüssel für die Füllung 400 g Frischkäse, 250 g Mascarpone, 20 g Mehl und 100 g Zucker miteinander cremig verrühren. Dann die Schale von 2 Orangen und 1 Zitrone, sowie den Saft von 1 Orange und 1/2 Zitrone gut unterrühren. Danach nacheinander die 3 Eier gut unterrühren. Ihr möchtet einen Teig in dem keine Klümpchen vom Käse mehr zu sehen sind, daher bitte die flüssigeren Zutaten nach und nach einrühren.

Wenn ihr den Boden herausgenommen habt den Oven auf 240° C (Ober- und Unterhitze) hochschalten.

Nun den Rand der Springform wieder anbringen. Den restlichen Teig für die Kruste innen am Rand nach oben festdrücken.

Dann 2 Bahnen Aluminiumfolie abmachen. Diese zu einem Kreuz legen und die Form in die Mitte setzen. Nun die Folie um die Form herumwickeln. Achtet hierbei darauf, dass sie möglichst dicht sitzt und das bis auf eine Höhe von 2/3 der Form keine Löcher bzw. Öffnungen vorhanden sind.

Jetzt die umwickelte Springform in eine Auflaufform setzen. In diese so viel Wasser einfüllen, dass es mindestens bis auf einer Höhe von 2/3 der Form steht, aber nicht in die Form hereinlaufen kann.

Nun die Füllung eingießen und die Auflaufform mit dem Kuchen in den Ofen setzen.

Den Cheesecake für 15 Minuten bei 240° C backen. Dann (ohne den Ofen zu öffnen), die Temperatur auf 90° C (Ober- und Unterhitze) herunterschalten und den Cheese Cake weitere 60 Minuten backen.

Danach den Ofen ausschalten (ohne ihn zu öffnen) und den Kuchen 30 Minuten lang bei geschlossener Türe im Ofen lassen.

Nun den Ofen aufmachen und den Kuchen weitere 30 Minuten auskühlen lassen bei geöffneter Türe (so ist er keiner Zugluft ausgesetzt, welche zu Rissen führen kann).

Dann die Auflaufform herausnehmen und die Springform vorsichtig aus dieser nehmen und abtrocknen. Auf ein Kuchengitter setzen. Mit einem Messer vorsichtig zwischen Rand der Form und der Kruste entlang fahren um diesen von der Springform zu lösen (denn dann kommt es nicht zu Rissen, wenn der Kuchen sich noch etwas zusammen zieht). Jedoch die Springform an sich noch nicht öffnen.

Den Kuchen weitere 30 Minuten auf dem Gitter abkühlen lassen. Dann stellt ihr in unabgedeckt für 3 Stunden in den Kühlschrank bis er ganz abgekühlt ist (auf einer Abdeckung kann Feuchtigkeit kondensieren, dann herunter tropfen und die schöne Oberfläche verschandeln).

Nun könnt ihr ihn abdecken und weitere 9 Stunden oder länger kalt stellen.

Dann endlich ist es so weit und ihr könnt die Springform lösen (noch einmal vorher mit dem Messer um den Rand herum fahren). Der Cheesecake lässt sich am besten mit einem Messer, das zwischen jedem Schritt angefeuchtet wurde schneiden.

 

Hält sich nicht länger als 3 Tage im Kühlschrank.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.