Foodistini Rezept Käsefüße
Savoury Recipe

Cheesy Cookies

Normally most of us only unpack their cookie cutter collection around Christmas. But what happens to all the cute easter bunnies and mice dreaming in the cookie cutter tin? These get woken up by me around easter!

But not for sweet cookies, but instead salty, cheesy cookies! A dough made out of 4 ingredients and topped with lots of cheese. Normally in our family we call this recipe “Smelly Feet”. Because we will use a cookie cutter shaped like a foot and because of all the cheese on top….well you get the joke.

They taste best the day they are made. I like to serve them as finger food at parties or as my bread side to a salad or (almost a tradition in my family for Christmas) as a side to an appetizer of smoked salmon.

Foodistini Rezept Käsefüße

But, a little word of warning: these cheesy cookies do not hold their cookie cutter form particularly well. So it is easier to choose simple uncomplicated forms instead of those with lots of details (so leave the butterfly in the tin and grab the triangle). Besides that it helps to not set the second round of cookies on the still hot baking sheet (from the first round). Instead let this one cool off a bit beforehand (to speed things up you might want to use to sheets). And as a last tipp: even though the dough needs to be cooled in between the steps, it helps if you let it warm up a bit (approximately 10 minutes). Then the shape of the forms will hold a bit better.


Recipe – Cheesy Cookies/em>

 
Amount: about 40 pieces; time: 30 minutes preparation, 60 minutes cooling, 30 minutes baking time
 

Ingredients:

  • 250 g flour
  • 1 pack (16 g) baking powder
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 250 g (2 sticks + 2 tbsp) cold butter
  • 250 g Quark (So I tried to find the American equivalent, you might be able to find it under the name “farmers cheese”, but maybe this here will also help you find the type of cheese I am talking about)
  • 150 g grated cheese

 

Recipe – Cheesy Cookies

 

Stir together 250 g flour, 1 pack (16 g) of baking powder and 1 pinch of salt in a bowl. Add 250 g of cold butter cut up into small pieces and work it in with a pastry blender* (*Affiliate Link – what is that? Transparency) or you can criss-cross 2 knifes until the butter crumbs resemble the size of peas.

Then add the 250 g of Quark and knead everything to a consistent dough.

Wrap it in plastic foil and cool it for at least 1 hour.

Preheat your oven to 390° F (200° C, Upper- and lower heat).

Lat your dough warm up for 10 minutes.

Roll out your dough on a floured work surface to a height of 0.2 inch. Cut out feet or other figures and set them on a lined cookie sheet.

Sprinkle with grated cheese.

Bake tray at 390° F (200° C, upper- and lower heat) for 10 minutes. Meanwhile prepare a second tray of cookies.

Set the done cheesy cookies on a tray to cool off. While preparing, place the next round of cookies not on the still hot tray, but lay them out on a baking sheet on the counter. When you want to place them in the oven, just pull the sheet on the now cool tray.

 

Taste best fresh on the same day, but will keep wrapped airtight fresh for up to 2 days.

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Foodistini Rezept Käsefüße
Herzhaft Rezept

Käsefüße

Normalerweise packen die meisten ihre Ausstecherformen nur um Weihnachten herum aus. Aber was ist mit all den süßen Osterhasen und Mäuschen die in meiner Ausstecherkiste schlummern? Die dürfen spätestens zu Ostern auch mal raus.

Aber nicht für süße Kekse, sondern für salziges Käsegebäck! Ein Teig aus 4 Zutaten mit Käse überbacken. Eigentlich ist das Rezept in unserer Familie als „Käsefüße“ bekannt. Denn zum ausstechen wird eine Fußform genommen und wegen dem vielen Käse drauf…na ihr versteht den Witz bestimmt.

Am aller besten schmecken sie direkt am Tag an dem sie gebacken wurden. Ich serviere sie gerne als Fingerfood bei Parties oder als kleinen Brotsnack zum Salat oder (auch gerne in unserer Familie an Weihnachten gemacht) als Beilage zur Vorspeiße aus geräuchertem Lachs.

Foodistini Rezept Käsefüße

Das Käsegebäck behält beim backen seine Form allerdings nicht besonders gut. Daher ist es einfacher ihr nehmt unkomplizierte Ausstecherformen ohne viele Details (also lieber den Schmetterling in der Kiste lassen und zu Dreiecken greifen). Ansonsten hilft es auch, die ausgestochenen Formen nicht sofort im zweiten Durchgang auf das noch heiße Backblech zu setzen, sondern dieses erst abkühlen zu lassen (hier hilft es ein zweites zur Hand zu haben). Und als letzten Tipp: auch wenn der Teig zwischendrin gekühlt werden soll, lasst ihn etwas erwärmen (ca 10 Minuten). Dann halten bei mir die Formen auch etwas besser. Viel Spaß beim Nachbacken!


Rezept – Käsefüße

Menge: ca. 40 Stück; Zubereitungszeit: 30 Minuten Zubereitung, 60 Minuten Kühlzeit, 30 Minuten Backzeit

Zutaten:

  • 250 g Mehl
  • 1 Päckchen (16 g) Backpulver
  • 1 Prise Salz
  • 250 g kalte Butter
  • 250 g Speisequark/li>
  • 150 g geriebener Käse

 

Rezept – Käsefüße

 

250 g Mehl, 1 Päckchen Backpulver und 1 Prise Salz miteinander in einer Schüssel verrühren. Die 250 g kalte Butter in kleine Stücke schneiden und mit einem Teigschneider* (*Affiliate Link – was das ist? Transparenz) einarbeiten (oder ihr nehmt 2 Messer und kreuzt diese immer wieder im Teig bis die Butterklumpen nur noch ca. erbsengröße haben).

Dann 250 g Speisequark hinzugeben und alles schnell zu einem glatten Teig verkneten.

Diesen in Plastikfolie einpacken und mindesten 1 Stunde kalt stellen.

Den Backofen auf 200° C (Ober- und Unterhitze) vorheizen.

Den Teig 10 Minuten lang etwas erwärmen.

Nun den Teig portionsweise auf einer bemehlten Arbeitsfläche ca. 1/2 cm dick ausrollen. Füße oder andere Figuren ausstechen und auf ein Backblech setzen.

Mit geriebenen Käse bestreuen.

Bei 200° C (Ober- und Unterhitze) ca. 10 Minuten backen. Währenddessen ein zweites Blech vorbereiten.

Die fertigen Käsefüße auf ein Gitter zum abkühlen setzen. Die ausgestochenen Formen für die nächste Runde nicht sofort auf das noch heiße Blech legen, sondern erstmal nur auf ein Backpapier auf der Arbeitsfläche legen. Erst wenn ihr das Blech in den Ofen schieben wollt, das Backpapier auf das nun ausgekühlte Backblech ziehen.

 

Schmecken am allerbesten frisch am Backtag, halten sich aber luftdicht verpackt auch 2 Tage.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.