Foodistini Restaurant Bewertung What's Beef Frankfurt
Burger Love self-test

Burgerlove: Selim’s ABC – at “What’s Beef” Frankfurt

On the 27th of June 2017 I visited What’s Beef in Frankfurt for the third time. Though the place is a bit hidden in a courtyard next to the construction site of the new Winx skyscraper, I decided to give the restaurant another chance.

 

The Restaurant

You order at a counter before you sit down on one of the long tables inside or outside. The concept is supposed to “relate to you a feeling of urban culture. From the design of the “to go” bags to the art on the walls to the cool look of the “What’s Beef” crew an atmosphere somewhere between Brooklyn, Upper East Side and the Meatpacking District is provoked.” (Philosophy, website opened and translated 02.07.2017). But personally I just find it to be too much of everything. Instead of nice details everything that resembled remotely some hipster vibe was hung on walls and ceiling. Through that the place seems to lack something in its overall design, but maybe you like it: for an impression in pictures I would love to refer you to rawrbrgr.com

On the menu you can find 6 standard burgers (2 with beef, 1 with wagyu, 1 vegan, 2 vegetarian – 7 to 17€), which you can customize with lots of extras. For uninspired visitors there are also readymade recommendations. Add to that 2 steak burgers (entrecôte 25€, wagyu rib eye 65€), fries in all colors, onion rings and lots of desert. And if you want to show up for breakfast you can order pancakes and breakfast burgers on the weekend starting at 10 o’clock.

Foodistini Restaurant Bewertung What's Beef Frankfurt
Selim’s ABC

The Burger: Selim’s ABC

The menu promises me: Patty, Avocado, Forget Bacon & Cheddar Cheese – for 9€.

 

The Bun:

The website told me I would be served a burger in a freshly baked bun from the in-house bakery – but sadly I received a bun that seems a few days old. Though the taste itself (somewhere along the lines of whole grain toast) was good, it was then just too dry. Sauces and juices from the patty couldn’t change that fact either. Bun – 2/5

 

The Meat:

If you read one or all of my other burger reviews you know, that I find good meat that has been seasoned with only a bit of salt and pepper the most important and tasties thing about a burger. But here at What’s Beef I could only taste salt and a strong charcoally grill flavor. A patty, that is served cooked through and where I can detect no hint of its own meat aroma – that is just sad. This was now my second attempt in the last 6 months and again the salt content was way to high. Though the quality of the meat seems alright and I am happy to hear they are using meat from regional farms – is it really worth it if I cannot detect any taste of the meat itself? Meat – 1/5

 

The Surroundings:

The rest on my burger such as salat, tomato, cucumber, red onion and avocado was fresh and good. A specialty of What’s Beef, the “Forget Bacon” – a crispy beef salami instead of pork is tasty and can actually (almost) replace my beloved bacon. The cheddar on the patty melted nicely, but was not of the best quality, so that it tasted a bit rubbery. Surroundings – 4/5

 

The Overall Standing

As the meat is always the most important part of a burger, my rating is calculated out of (Bun + (Meat x 2) + Surroundings) / 4 and this way Selim’s ABC scores  – 2 out of 5 Points.

Foodistini Restaurant Bewertung What's Beef Frankfurt
Sweet Zapata

As our side we shared the “Sweet Zapata”: sweet potato fries with guacamole, tomatoes and sour cream. Sadly the guacamole was again way too salty and the sour cream, more a cream cheese with mediterranean herbs, could have been good, if again was not way too salty. Somehow someone in the kitchen seems to be very generous with the salt shaker. If I were to visit here again, I would recommend the normal fries or sweet potato fries served in small buckets.

Nutella Donut Shake – Do you already follow me on instagram?

But one thing I want to positively recommend: the shakes for dessert! When I visited here last time we had a great Nutella donut shake. Even though it is not a real milkshake made from ice cream but more a cold Nutella milk, the toppings are genius. The freshly fried donut is amazing and the cheesecake shake keeps the promise in its name. If you want to visit What’s beef for desert only (the way I will do in the future), then you are definitely in the right place.

 

The Overall Impression

I visited What’s Beef now for the third time and every time I was disappointed with my burger. If you like a lot of salt in your food, you might give them a chance. And others are reporting only good things from their other restaurants for example in Düsseldorf, but in Frankfurt something is going wrong in my opinion. The marketing is spectacular, but somewhere along the line someone in Frankfurt lost sight of the burger. Well, that means I will only be back for my sugar dose for desert.

 

Atmosphere: 3 out of 5 Points

Burger: 2 out of 5 Points

Total: 2,3 out of 5 Points

(Atmosphere + Food x 2) / 3

 

What’s Beef
Seckbächer Gasse 5, 60311 Frankfurt am Main
(Monday – Friday 11:00 – 23:00 Uhr, Saturday & Sunday 10:00 – 23:00)

 

[I tested the restaurant without their knowledge and the articel describes my very own impression.]

Have you tried a burger at What’s Beef? How did you like it?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Foodistini Restaurant Bewertung What's Beef Frankfurt
Burger Liebe Selbstgetestet

Burgerliebe: Selim’s ABC – bei „What’s Beef“, Frankfurt

Am 27. Juni 2017 war ich jetzt sogar zum dritten Mal bei What’s Beef in Frankfurt. Etwas versteckt in einem Hinterhof bei der Baustelle des Winx Hochhauses hatte ich mich dazu entschlossen, diesem Laden nochmal eine Chance zu geben.

 

Das Restaurant

Bestellt wird an der Theke bevor man sich an einem der langen Tische drinnen oder draußen setzen darf. Das Konzept soll ein „Gefühl von urbaner Kultur vermitteln. Vom Design der „To Go“ Bags über die Kunst an den Wänden bis hin zum coolen Look der „What’s Beef“ Crew wird eine Atmosphäre geschaffen, die irgendwo zwischen Brooklyn, Upper East Side und dem Meatpacking District liegt.“ (Philosophie der What’s Beef Website, vom 02.07.2017). Aber ich persönliche finde es einfach nur von allem zu viel. Anstatt schöner Details wurde einfach so viel wie möglich an Hipstermäßigen an die Wände und Decken gehängt. Es wirkt auf mich dadurch etwas unstimmig im Gesamtkonzept, aber vielleicht gefällt es euch ja: für einen Foto-Eindruck verweise ich gerne auf rawrbrgr.com

Auf der Karte findet ihr 6 Standard Burger (2 mit Beef, 1 mit Wagyu Rind, 1 veganer, 2 vegetarische – 7 bis 17€), die ihr aber mit allerlei Extras zu eurem ganz Eigenen zusammenbauen könnt. Für Uninspirierte gibt es auch schon fertige Recommendations. Dazu gibt es dann noch zwei Steakburger (Entrecote 25€, Wagyu Rib Eye 65€), Pommes in allen Variationen, Onion Rings und viel Nachtisch. Und solltet ihr hier zum Frühstück vorbeikommen wollen gibt es hier am Wochenende ab 10 Breakfast Burger und Pancakes.

Foodistini Restaurant Bewertung What's Beef Frankfurt
Selim’s ABC

Der Burger: Selim’s ABC

Die Karte verspricht mir: Patty, Avocado, Forget Bacon & Cheddar Cheese – für 9€.

 

Das Brötchen:

Zwar heißt es auf der Webseite, die Burger würde in frisch gebackenen Brötchen aus der hauseigenen Bäckerei serviert – das ändert aber leider nichts daran, dass meines altbacken war. Auch wenn der Geschmack (etwas in Richtung Vollkorntoast) an sich gut war, so war es dadurch einfach sehr trocken. Daran konnten auch die Soßen und der Bratensaft nichts ändern. Brötchen – 2/5

 

Das Fleisch:

Wer schon den ein oder anderen Burger Beitrag von mir gelesen hat weiß, dass ich gutes Fleisch welches nur mit etwas Salz und Pfeffer gewürzt wurde das aller Wichtigste und Leckerste an einem Burger finde. Hier bei What’s Beef schmecke ich aber nur Salz und starke Röstaromen. Ein Patty, welches mir durch serviert wird und dann keinen eigenständigen Fleischgeschmack erkennen lässt ist einfach nur traurig. Dies war nun schon mein zweiter Versuch innerhalb eines halben Jahres und leider war der Salzgehalt stets viel zu hoch. Zwar schient die Qualität der Fleisches in Ordnung und es freut mich, dass Sie Fleisch von regionalen Bauern verarbeiten – aber was bringt das, wenn ich leider keinerlei Fleischaroma herausschmecken kann? Fleisch – 1/5

 

Das Drumherum:

Das Restliche auf meinem Burger an Salat, Tomate, Salatgurke, Roter Zwiebel und Avocado war frisch und genug. Eine Besonderheit von What’s Beef, den „Forget Bacon“ – eine knusprige Rinder Salami anstatt Schweinefleisch, ist lecker und kann tatsächlich (fast) meinen geliebten Bacon ersetzten. Der verwendete Cheddar ist auf dem Patty schön verlaufen, aber nicht von bester Qualität, so dass er etwas Gummiartig schmeckt. Drumherum – 4/5

 

Die Gesamtwertung

Da das Fleisch an einem Burger stets das wichtigste ist setzt sich meine Bewertung zusammen aus (Brötchen + (Fleisch x 2) + Drumherum) / 4 und damit bekommt Selim’s ABC – 2 von 5 Punkten.

Foodistini Restaurant Bewertung What's Beef Frankfurt
Sweet Zapata

Als Beilage teilten wir uns die Sweet Zapata: Süßkarotffelpommes mit Guacamole, Tomaten und Sour Cream. Leider war die Guacamole auch wieder viel zu salzig und die Sour Cream eher eine Frischkäsecreme mit Mediterranen Kräutern. Das hätte sehr lecker sein können, wenn nicht auch sie viel zu salzig gewesen wäre. Irgendwie scheint es in der Küche wohl jemanden zu geben, der sehr großzügig mit dem Salzstreuer umgeht. Würde ich nochmal gehen, so würde ich euch die normalen Pommes oder Süßkarotffelpommes in einem Eimerchen serviert empfehlen.

Nutella Donut Shake – Folgt ihr mir schon auf instagram?

Was ich jetzt aber noch positiv hervorheben möchte: Die Shakes zum Nachtisch! Als ich das letzte mal da war hatten wir diesen tollen Nutella Donut Shake. Auch wenn es kein richtiger Speißeeismilchshake sondern eher kalte Nutella Milch ist, so sind die Toppings genial. Der frisch frittierte Donut einfach nur lecker und auch der Cheesecake Shake hält was der Name verspricht. Solltet ihr nur für einen Nachtisch kommen wollen (so wie ich es wohl in Zukunft machen werde), dann seit ihr bei What’s Beef definitiv richtig.

 

Der Gesamteindruck

Nun war ich schon drei mal bei What’s Beef und wurde jedesmal von meinem Burger enttäuscht. Wenn ihr besonders viel Salz mögt, gebt dem Ganzen vielleicht mal eine Chance. Andere berichten ja auch Gutes über andere Filialen zB in Düsseldorf, aber hier in Frankfurt läuft meiner Meinung nach irgendetwas falsch. Denn das Marketing ist super umgesetzt, aber dabei hat wohl jemand in Frankfurt den Burger etwas aus dem Blick verloren. Na, dann komme ich eben nur noch für den Zuckerschock zum Nachtisch vorbei.

 

Ambiente: 3 von 5 Punkten

Burger: 2 von 5 Punkten

Gesamt: 2,3 von 5 Punkten 

(Ambiente + Essen x 2) / 3

 

What’s Beef
Seckbächer Gasse 5, 60311 Frankfurt am Main
(Montag – Freitag 11:00 – 23:00 Uhr; Samstag & Sonntag 10:00 – 23:00 Uhr)

 

[Ich habe das Restaurant ohne dessen Kenntnis oder Gegenleistung getestet. Der Artikel beschreibt meinen eigenen subjektiven Eindruck.]

Habt ihr auch schon einen Burger bei What’s Beef getestet? Wie fandet ihr es?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.