Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt
Burger Love self-test

Burgerlove: – Little Bacon Cheese Burger at “Five Guys”, Frankfurt

On the 7th of November 2018 I had my dinner at one of my favorite burger chains from the US: the new Five Guys at the Hauptwache in Frankfurt, Germany. It only just opened on the 4th of November and I have been looking forward to this burger for months.

Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt

The Restaurant

The restaurant looks exactly the same as all the ones I have seen so far in the US, the last one while visiting my sister in Bridgeport, Connecticut. The white and red tiles. The big sacks of potatoes and peanuts. The store concept has been transported in every detail to Germany. Only that in Frankfurt, there are about 30 people behind the counter, cooking, shouting, taking your order. And the store is filled to the last spot. Because of that it sadly is very loud and hectic around the high bar chairs and booths. If you would prefer to sit down for a long dinner, then go to one of the many other burger places in Frankfurt. But if you want a quick burger, well we did not even wait 5 minutes for ours, even though the queue was rather long.

Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt Milchshakes

On the menu you can only find 4 burgers (hamburg, cheeseburger, bacon burger, bacon cheeseburger) in 2 sizes. The normal one with 2 patties and the “little” variation just comes with one. The toppings may be chosen freely and to your own liking from a long list. And besides that you can find milkshakes, fries, vegetarian sandwiches and hotdogs on the menu (an overview here). Oh, and of course the freestyle drink machines (for things like raspberry coke), as well as free peanuts to snack on.

Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt

The Burger: Little Bacon Cheese Burger

The menu promises me: well, nothing less than a “little bacon cheese burger” – but I also choose a few toppings (mustard, mayo, ketchup, pickles, grilled onions, tomato, salad).

The Bun:

The bun is very sweet and soft. It is somewhat comparable with the classic hamburger buns you can buy in stores in Germany, but better tasting then the store-bought ones. Mine is sadly squished, partially cold, and tastes like it has not been baked through completely. I miss a well toasted bottom. Bun – 2/5

The Meat:

The patty is very cross on the outside and only flavored with salt and pepper (American style, duh). I love the existence of strong roasting flavors, but besides those the well done meat tastes almost of nothing else. And I somewhat remember it to be juicier in the US. Meat – 3/5

The Surroundings:

The surroundings, excluding the cheese, are great! The toppings were fresh and generously supplied. The mustard is a bit spicier then the kind I am used to. The Bacon is broken into many bits and wonderfully cross. Only the cheese… some of it has not yet melted and it overall tastes very artificial. Surroundings – 4/5

The Overall Standing

As the meat is always the most important part of a burger, my rating is calculated out of (Bun + (Meat x 2) + Surroundings) / 4 and this way Five Guys Burger scores – 3 out of 5 points.

Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt

But if you do happen to stop by: try the cajun style fries! They are cut fresh each day and served partially with skin. They are cooked through in peanut oil, but still relatively soft. And topped off with an amazing mix of spices. Salty, spicy and a hint of paprika.

Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt

The Overall Impression

The restaurant definitely makes me think of the United States. I like it a lot, that they brought their design and concept of a “no freezer policy” to Germany. The ingredients seem to be very fresh and the burger is always freshly made for you. But you don’t get restaurant style food in my opinion, just fast food in a better quality. The eye wants to feast too, which it can’t if I have to unwrap my burger from its tin foil at my place. Then I get a squished bun on the foil I use as a plate. Well, like I said, I would not recommend the place for a relaxed dinner (like for example Luna Burger or Good Guys, where you get a great burger for 10 € as well). And then add to that, that the burger tastes slightly different then the ones I remember from the US. I think you can tell, they only have been open for a couple of days. I hope they will be able to convince me of their burgers even more, when their team is working a little bit better. I will be back, but considering the price and that I think it still qualifies (as delicious and high quality) fast food just not tomorrow, but maybe only in a couple weeks.

 

Atmosphere: 2 out of 5 points

Burger: 3 out of 5 points

Total: 2,6 out of 5 points

(Atmosphere + food x 2) / 3

 

Five Guys
Zeil 127, 60313 Frankfurt am Main
(Sunday – Thurdsay 11:00 am – 11:00 pm; Friday & Saturday 11:00 am – 12:00 pm)

 

[I tested the restaurant without their knowledge and the articel describes my very own impression.]

Have you tried a burger at Five Guys? How did you like it?

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt
Burger Liebe Selbstgetestet

Burgerliebe: Little Bacon Cheese Burger – bei „Five Guys“, Frankfurt

Am 7. November 2017 gab es ein Abendessen bei einer meiner liebsten Burgerketten aus den USA: dem neuen Five Guys an der Hauptwache in Frankfurt. Eröffnet am 4. November freue ich mich schon seit Monaten darauf hier einen Burger essen zu können.

Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt

 

Das Restaurant

Das Restaurant sieht einfach genauso aus, wie ich es auch bei meinem letzten Besuch bei meiner Schwester in Bridgeport, Connecticut erleben durfte. Weiß, rote Fließen. Große Säcke mit Kartoffeln und Erdnüssen. Das Ladenkonzept wurde 1 zu 1 nach Deutschland gebracht. Nur das hier in Frankfurt bestimmt 30 Leute hinter der Theke herumwuselen und der Laden komplett voll ist. Dadurch war es leider auch sehr laut und wirkte hektisch an den hohen Bartischen & Sitznischen. Wer sich für ein ausgedehntes Abendessen hinsetzten möchte sollte sich einen anderen der vielen Burgerläden in Frankfurt aussuchen. Wer aber einen schnellen Burger möchte, wartet hier trotz langer Schlange nicht mal 5 Minuten auf sein Essen.

Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt Milchshakes

Auf der Karte stehen nur 4 Burger (Hamburger, Cheeseburger, Bacon Burger, Bacon Cheeseburger) in 2 Größen. Der normale hat einfach 2 Patties und die „Little“ Variante nur eines. Die Toppings können sich aus einer Liste komplett frei und kostenlos ausgesucht werden. Ansonsten stehen noch Milchshakes, Pommes, vegetarische Sandwiches und Hotdogs auf der Karte (Ein Überblick hier). Oh und natürlich nicht zu vergessen die Freestyle Getränkemaschinen (für sowas wie Himbeere Cola), sowie die gratis Erdnüsse zum snacken.

Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt

Der Burger: Little Bacon Cheese Burger

Die Karte verspricht mir: naja einen Little Bacon Cheese Burger und nicht mehr – ich nehme als Toppings dann noch „all in“ (Senf, Mayo, Ketchup, Gewürzgurke, gegrillte Zwiebel, Tomate, Salat), mit Ausnahme der Champignons.

Das Brötchen:

Das Brötchen ist sehr süß und weich. Ein bisschen in die Richtung der klassischen Hamburger Brötchen, die man im Laden bekommt, aber weniger pappig als diese. Meines ist leider sehr zerdrückt, stellenweise noch kalt und schmeckt etwas wie nicht ganz durchgebacken. Ich vermisse eine getoastete Unterseite. Brötchen – 2/5

Das Fleisch:

Das Patty ist außen sehr kross und nur mit Salz und Pfeffer gewürzt. Dadurch sind zwar leckere Röstaromen vorhanden, aber ansonsten ist das durchgebratene Fleisch im Geschmack etwas nichtssagend. Das hatte ich saftiger in Erinnerung. Fleisch – 3/5

Das Drumherum:

Das Drumherum, wenn es ohne den Käse wäre, ist klasse! Die Toppings sind frisch und großzügig auf dem Burger. Der Senf ist etwas schärfer als man es hier normalerweise gewohnt ist. Der Bacon ist sehr reichlich vorhanden und extra kross. Nur der Käse…leider stellenweise nicht geschmolzen und sehr künstlich im Geschmack. Drumherum – 4/5

Die Gesamtwertung

Da das Fleisch an einem Burger stets das wichtigste ist setzt sich meine Bewertung zusammen aus (Brötchen + (Fleisch x 2) + Drumherum) / 4 und damit bekommt der Five Guys Burger – 3 von 5 Punkten.

Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt

Absolut ans Herz legen möchte ich euch aber noch die Cajun Style Pommes! Jeden Tag frisch geschnitten haben diese hier stellenweise noch ihre leckere Schale. Die Pommes werden in Erdnussöl fertig gebraten und noch recht weich serviert. Doch die Gewürzmischung über dem Ganzen ist hier der Star. Salzig, scharf und etwas Paprika.

Foodistini Five Guys Burger Frankfurt

Der Gesamteindruck

Das Restaurant wirkt sehr Amerikanisch auf mich. Schön finde ich es, dass das Design und das Konzept mit keinen Gefrierschränken für die Lebensmittel wirklich 1 zu 1 nach Deutschland gebracht wurde. Die Zutaten scheinen frisch zu sein und die Burger werden sowieso immer frisch für einen gebraten. Nur bekommt ihr hier eben kein Restaurant Niveau sondern etwas besseres Fast Food Niveau. Das Auge isst definitiv nicht mit, wenn ich meinen Burger erstmal aus der Folie wickeln darf. Dann schaut mich ein zerdrücktes Brötchen an und ich benutze die Folie als Teller. Nunja, wie gesagt, für das gemütliche Abendessen eher nicht so ganz geeignet (wie zB aber Luna Burger oder Good Guys, wo man ebenso für 10 € einen tollen & ausgefalleneren Burger bekommt). Ich finde es schmeckt auch noch nicht wirklich wie ich meinen Burger aus den USA in Erinnerung habe. Man merkt wohl doch, dass sie erst ein paar Tage offen sind. Aber darum werde ich ihnen auch ganz bald wieder eine Chance geben. Ich hoffe sie können mich mit ihren Burgern noch mehr überzeugen, wenn das Team etwas besser eingespielt ist. Ich werde hier bei Five Guys definitiv nochmal essen, doch wenn ich an den Preis denke und an die Tatsache, dass es für mich immer noch (sehr leckeres und qualitativ hochwertiges) Fast Food darstellt, nicht morgen, sondern erst in ein paar Wochen.

 

Ambiente: 2 von 5 Punkten

Burger: 3 von 5 Punkten

Gesamt: 2,6 von 5 Punkten 

(Ambiente + Essen x 2) / 3

 

Five Guys
Zeil 127, 60313 Frankfurt am Main
(Sonntag – Donnerstag 11:00 – 23:00 Uhr; Freitag & Samstag 11:00 – 24:00 Uhr)

 

[Ich habe das Restaurant ohne dessen Kenntnis oder Gegenleistung getestet. Der Artikel beschreibt meinen eigenen subjektiven Eindruck.]

Habt ihr auch schon einen Burger bei Five Guys getestet? Wie fandet ihr es?

1 Comment

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.